zwischen körpern

Titel einer Ausstellung

An exhibition in the form of a book – from 15 March 2021 to 30 April 2021.

 

zwischen körpern negotiates the physical body as a starting and end point in which society is inscribed. In the process, various control mechanisms are examined, which affect diverse bodies in very different ways. The focus is on the impact and experience of control on the body: bodies are consciously or unconsciously modelled and also controlled by historical and social circumstances.

The body is understood as a venue for political struggles. Thus emancipation strategies and self-empowerment processes own a key role. To what extent are the flesh and new technologies interwoven and what role do intimacy and social constraints play in this? Eleven contemporary positions explore these complex dynamics through sculpture, installation, video, photography and performance. As the selection of artworks does, the book will reflect and critically question corporeality from a decolonial and intersectional-feminist perspective.

In the form of a publication, the exhibition can be experienced on paper even during the times of the pandemic. An additional digital programme will extend the experience of going through the exhibition, flipping through the pages, to its physical limits. For this, the Kleine Humboldt Galerie is cooperating with the K. Verlag and will allow the readers of the publication to become visitors.

The exhibition venue in the former, historic veterinary school, which is now the home of the Hermann von Helmholtz-Zentrum für Kulturtechnik, is of great importance.  The heart of the building, which was constructed by Carl Gotthard Langhans, is a domed auditorium with a platform through which animal carcasses were lifted. In the adjoining Gerlach Building, the former slaughterhouse, the animals’ bodies were prepared for the veterinary lectures. The exhibition zwischen körpern was intended to make the Gerlachbau accessible to the general public for the first time.

Buy the catelogue from K. Verlag or read and download it online.

Any thoughts about our exhibition? Drop a word on our guestbook!

Program

From artist talk and workshop to podcast – find out our current events to the exhibition. Also, we would like to invite you to the launch of our book-as-exhibition!

25.03.2021 / 6–6.30 pm 
Datafiction – Online-Vortrag von Lotte Meret & Marco Buetikofer
Auf Englisch

17.04.2021 / 2–5 pm
Embodying Gaze: How to Embody your First-Person Perspective by Removing your Head?
Workshop mit Kirstin Burckhardt
Auf Englisch 

09.04.2021 / 7–8 pm
mEat me – Food for the Post- Anthropocene: on Body-Hacking and the De-centering of the Human as Material
Online-Vortrag von Theresa Schubert

Sign up for the programs of our exhibiton project zwischen körpern here.

Download leaflet

Artists

Kirstin Burckhardt

Marco Buetikofer

Carolina Caycedo

Stine Deja

Lotte Meret Effinger 

Ester Fleckner

Yngve Holen

Luisa Krautien

Michael Liani

Theresa Schubert

Zuzana Svatik

Published by

K. Verlag

(Anna-Sophie Springer)

Herzbergstraße 40–43

Haus 6/Werkstatt 4

D-10365 Berlin

Germany

k-verlag.org

zwischen körpern

Ausstellungsbanner

Eine Ausstellung im Format eines Buches – vom 19. März 2021 bis zum 30. April 2021. 

zwischen körpern verhandelt den physischen Körper als Start- und Endpunkt, in den sich die Gesellschaft einschreibt. Dabei werden verschiedene Kontrollmechanismen untersucht, die ganz unterschiedlich auf diverse Körper einwirken. Die Wirkkraft und Erfahrbarkeit von Kontrolle auf und am Körper steht im Fokus: Körper werden bewusst oder unbewusst durch historische und soziale Umstände modelliert und auch kontrolliert.

Der Körper wird als Austragungsort politischer Kämpfe verstanden, weshalb Emanzipationsstrategien und Selbstermächtigungsprozesse eine zentrale Rolle einnehmen. Inwiefern sind das Fleischliche und neue Technologien miteinander verwoben und welche Rolle spielen dabei Intimität und soziale Zwänge? Elf zeitgenössische Positionen untersuchen diese komplexen Dynamiken mittels Skulptur, Rauminstallation, Video, Fotografie und Performance. Körperlichkeit wird wie auch bei der Auswahl der Kunstwerke aus einer dekolonialen und intersektional-feministischen Perspektive reflektiert und kritisch hinterfragt. 

In Form einer Publikation wird die Ausstellung zwischen körpern in coronalen Zeiten auf Papier erfahrbar gemacht. Ein zusätzliches digitales Rahmenprogramm wird das Durchlaufen der Ausstellung, beim Durchblättern der Seiten, um ihre physischen Grenzen erweitern. Dafür kooperiert die Kleine Humboldt Galerie mit dem K. Verlag und lässt die Leser*innen der Publikation zu Besucher*innen werden. 

Eine besondere Rolle spielt dabei der Ausstellungsort in der ehemaligen, historischen Tierarzneischule, welche heute Sitz des Hermann von Helmholtz-Zentrums für Kulturtechnik ist. Herzstück dieses von Carl Gotthard Langhans erbauten Gebäudes ist der überkuppelte Hörsaal mit Hebebühne, mittels derer Tierkörper emporgehoben wurden. In dem angrenzenden Gerlachbau, der früheren Schlachthalle, wurden die Körper für die veterinärmedizinischen Vorlesungen vorbereitet. Mit der Ausstellung zwischen körpern sollte der Gerlachbau zum ersten Mal für eine breite Öffentlichkeit zugänglich gemacht werden.

Das Buch beim K. Verlag kaufen oder online lesen und herunterladen.

Du hast Gedanken zu unserer Ausstellung? Schreib doch in unser Gästebuch!

Programm

Von Artist Talk zu Workshop zu Podcast – unter Events findet Ihr unser aktuelles Rahmenprogramm zur Ausstellung. Außerdem laden wir dich herzlich zum Launch des Buchs-als-Ausstellung ein!

25.03.2021 / 18–18.30 Uhr
Datafiction – Online-Vortrag von Lotte Meret & Marco Buetikofer
Auf Englisch

17.04.2021 / 14–17 Uhr
Embodying Gaze: How to Embody your First-Person Perspective by Removing your Head?
Workshop mit Kirstin Burckhardt
Auf Englisch

09.04.2021 / 19–20 Uhr
mEat me – Food for the Post- Anthropocene: on Body-Hacking and the De-centering of the Human as Material
Online-Vortrag von Theresa Schubert

Anmeldungen für einzelne Veranstaltungen sind hier möglich.

Faltblatt zum Download als PDF

Künstler*innen

Kirstin Burckhardt

Marco Buetikofer

Carolina Caycedo

Stine Deja

Lotte Meret Effinger 

Ester Fleckner

Yngve Holen

Luisa Krautien

Michael Liani

Theresa Schubert

Zuzana Svatik

Erscheint im

K. Verlag

(Anna-Sophie Springer)

Herzbergstraße 40–43

Haus 6/Werkstatt 4

D-10365 Berlin

Germany

k-verlag.org